top of page

Standard #4

Updated: Jul 11, 2019

InTASC Standard: Standard #4: Content Knowledge

The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and creates learning experiences that make these aspects of the discipline accessible and meaningful for learners to assure mastery of the content (InTASC, 2013).


Brief Description of Evidence:

During the spring semester of 2019 as part of my EDUC 233 – Literacy Development Through Children’s Literature, I received the opportunity to take part in a book fair. The class was given a choice to take part in this book fair to receive extra credit. Each person had to choose a different children’s book to create a poster board covering that piece of literature. For the poster board, we had to include each of the following: title, author/illustrator, plot, characters, setting, conflict, theme, and lesson plan examples. I made sure that I understood the concepts of my chosen book and used tools of inquiry to produce a quality poster board to interest anyone who came to see the book fair.


Analysis of What I Learned:

Throughout the process of preparing and creating my poster board, I learned that it is extremely important to understand concepts, use tools of inquiry, and use the structure of discipline to produce meaningful information to show that I have mastered the content. I also learned that a book fair would be an excellent idea for my future students to participate in; this would allow them to be more engaged in content areas and apply different methods of inquiry. I learned that when you prepare a lesson plan, you need to effectively use multiple explanations and/or different activities to guide the learners to see engagement and success. You also need to be able to have your lesson reflect on prior knowledge and build off of that knowledge to link new concepts and connect ideas and experiences. I also learned that Bloom’s Taxonomy is an excellent way to confirm I am giving my students meaningful learning experiences that will assure mastery of the content. One way I can do this is by implementing Bloom’s Taxonomy of Planning Verbs into my lesson plans.


How This Artifact Demonstrates my Competence on the InTASC Standard:

I have demonstrated my competence in Standard 4 – Content Knowledge by producing a poster board about a children’s literature book. Throughout the process of this, I was able to use content knowledge from the book I chose to present a project that created a learning experience for those who came to the book fair. I was able to assure mastery of the book’s content by applying it to differentiated lesson plans for my future classrooms. I can assure that this book fair allowed me to bring meaningful content to my learners by referring back to the Indiana Academic Standards I provided in my book fair project.




コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page