top of page

EDTE 350 Discussion Posts

Discussion Post 1: Frameworks & Teacher Technology Use

When it comes to the ACOT model, I see myself in between the adaption and appropriation stages. I do not believe I have mastered the appropriation stage but I am definitely working towards that! I have been working towards this stage by taking part and creating project-based lesson plans that integrate technology as needed. I still have a lot to learn but I am so excited to see how much I will grow through this class!

When it comes to the SAMR model, I see myself more in the modification stage. I think this is my position in the model because I have used iMovie for educational purposes, assess in creative ways, hyperlink, collaborating with peers (Google Docs, Trello, Pinterest, Seesaw), and web-designing. I have used many of these in my previous classes at Ivy Tech Community College.

TPACK and Triple E can help teachers move forward with technology integration by having them acknowledge where they are, tell them where they should strive to be, and by providing examples of what they could do to get to the next step! Learning First, Technology Second allow us to recognize that both of these can help inform educators of the importance of growing and developing when it comes to the integration of technology! They allow room for and encourage growth.

In high school, I used technology more so as a substitute than anything. However, at Ivy Tech, I have used it for so much more! I received the opportunity to create my own website (these were used to assess competency), presentations with televisions that were touch screen, Google Docs to collaborate on assignments, Pinterest board collaborations for lesson plan ideas, Trello for action research projects, and Spheros for lesson plans. As of now, I have used Spheros and Seesaw at Ball State. I am excited to see what else I will use! 

I have used technology as a tutor through the use of Khan Academy, YouTube, TED Talks, documentaries, and Plato. I have used different documentaries, TED Talks, YouTube videos, and used Plato for school work. All of these have helped teach me an immense amount of different things. A few examples of how I have used technology as a tool are from the use of calculators, Pinterest, and Grammarly. All of these different tools have helped me become successful in the classroom. One way I have used technology as a tutee is by using Spheros. 

I think that there are so many factors that influence teachers' decisions to use technology. A few of these factors include cost, time, administration, colleagues, and it is always changing. These factors are heavy influences, however, it is our job of the new generation of educators to enlighten others about the POSITIVE side of integrating technology. By using technology in our classrooms, we become co-learners, encourage the new, provide more opportunities locally and globally, allow variety, and are open-minded to trying new ideas/innovations!

These frameworks could help guide teachers and administrators' thinking about technology integration because of the engagement, enhancement, and extension of the learning goals! For example, in Learning First, Technology Second, we realize that the Triple E Framework challenges educators to use technology purposefully to help push their students towards meeting the learning goals set for them (Kolb, 2017). 


Discussion Post 2: Learning With Technology


When using technology for effective student learning, you should engage, enhance, and extend learning goals. One example would be one of the lessons my group and I came up with - weather forecasting. The students would create their own forecast with iMovie, they would record themselves in front of a green screen reporting on weather patterns and news events. The teacher’s role in this would be to guide the students, I think is NOT teacher centered. The students’ role is to research, film, and produce a forecast. This challenges traditional practices because technology is no longer a substitution, it is being redefined. The lesson I explained previously is an authentic and engaging activity because it redefines technology.


Discussion Post 3: Thinking Tools & Web-Based Activities


Lists, spreadsheets, databases, and graphic organizers are mind tools that change within the classroom. The fact of the matter is that teachers can implement them in their classroom in a passive or active manner. If they simply just use it as a "worksheet" and don't challenge learners to use it mindfully, it does nothing. However, if they use that mindtool to support them in a second piece of the project, then it will have much more success. General characteristics of tool activities that can increase the probability of meaningful learning are engaging, purposeful, extensive, and collaborative. Examples of how you can use different technologies as thinking tools are Piktochart, Pinterest, Trello, Google Docs, Prezi, Seesaw, Discord and Feedly. 

These various technologies could be used as tools for inquiry, communication, and knowledge construction. Each listed technology is very unique but all have a basis of inquiry, communication, and knowledge construction. They are very diverse, but it is interesting to see how they all have the same concept. This is beneficial to the classroom because it provides you with options, so you can choose the best that your students will adapt best to. Lesson ideas and activities for how different technologies can be used for engagement, enhancement, and extension are movies, comic books/novels, commercials, and action research projects. I believe that all these ideas would incorporate engagement, enhancement, and extension.


Discussion Post 4: Equity/Access & Assistive Technology/Universal Design


My instructional contexts have addressed issues such as assistive technology, universal design, equity, and access by the instructional strategies professors have used in my classes. For example, in my EDEL 300/EDRD 300 classes, my professor dedicated a week of class to address diversity and equity in the classroom. We did an activity about the issues we see surfaced in classrooms and that teachers deal with daily. We also learned that we need to see the background of our students to understand where they are coming from. As an instructional leader, in my immersive at North View Elementary, I have allowed students to listen to audiobooks on Epic!. The students who need to have the words read to them aloud while reading along appreciate this greatly. I have taken these issues into consideration in the construction of my PBL Inquiry Project. For example, students will be using mind-mapping tools to help them along the process. Students also are reading a dystopian novel, in which they could read a hard copy of the book, ebook, or an audiobook!

     One issue regarding equity & access is the physical divide of those with access to ICT, and those without. We can combat this by seeking helps from the parents/community, develop problem-solving strategies with others, taking time to learn students' ICT skill levels, advocate for equal access, and prepare for the failure that comes along with this issue. A second issues regarding equity & access is access to achievement enhancing TMI. We can combat this issue by get to know students' ICT level, make learning meaningful, work with administration to gain access to ICT, and incorporate problem solving with rigorous questions. An issue with assistive technologies are the myths that come along with it. For example, people often think that assistive technologies bring forth cheating, reliance on technology rather than inartistic motivation, and that students will not be able to read if they listen to audiobooks. One way teachers can address this issue of myths about assistive technology is advocate for the technologies and tell people HOW it helps students! Many people believe these myths because someone has not yet explained it to them, we need to expand people's minds about the matter.





Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page