top of page

EDTE 350 Reflection

A few major concepts we covered in the fall semester of 2019 in EDTE 350 were SAMR, TPACK, mindtools, PBL, equity, and access. The concept of SAMR was very challenging at first. However, as the semester progressed, it was easier to assess where my lesson plans were at according to SAMR. Even though this was originally practiced in my technology course, I implemented it in the immersive I was in for my other courses. Whenever I created lesson plans for my class at North View, SAMR was always on my mind. A goal I had in place for each lesson I taught was to reach the modification level in SAMR. TPACK was another concept covered in this course. This model allowed me to look at lesson planning at a deeper level. It challenged me to think about areas of the planning stage that most people skip over. This gave me the opportunity to provide more meaningful, authentic lessons to students. Mindtools were a third concept we discussed in class. I absolutely loved this concept; it was one of my favorites. During the time we went over this in class, I was able to gain a lot more knowledge about mindtools. I also discovered an immense amount of different tools that I could integrate in my future classroom. Project-Based Learning is yet another topic covered in this course. This was also another hot topic of mine! Project-based lesson plans are by far my favorite lessons to teach. This content area in this class reinforced my perspective about teaching, learning, and technology integration! I have taught project-based lessons before. However, this course provided me an opportunity to grow in the technology portion of this type of learning! I discovered a ton of amazing tools to implement when it comes to PBL. We also discussed equity and access when it comes to technology. We had a class discussion regarding the readings assigned. The readings and discussion were very insightful and rich. This challenged my perspective in technology integration because I am from a 1:1 technology school. However, after this course, I am aware that they did not integrate technology as purposefully as they could. This discussion was very eye-opening.

TPACK and the Triple E frameworks are some of my favorite frameworks for technology adoption. The TPACK framework serves as a toll to help reconceptualize technology integration within the classroom by allowing educators to take a deeper look at the content they are teaching, how they are teaching it, and how they are integrating technology. This framework provides teachers with a self-assessment tool and planning strategy! The Triple E framework also serves as a tool to help reconceptualize technology integration within the classroom by allowing educators to see how they are engaging, enhancing, and extending the learning goals. This is yet another powerful tool that teachers should integrate while planning for instruction. This framework can help guide educators when it comes to authentic instruction. In order to integrate technology more effectively within instructional contexts, we need to work collaboratively with others; and not solely with other educators. While it is amazing to have educators work with educators and share lesson plans with purposeful technology integration, we need more collaboration than that. We need a community collaboration to happen with the schools and technology! This could mean learning about how zoos, businesses, etc. use technology. We need to be showing students and faculty how technology is not just integrated in schools but in local and global contexts.




Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page